98th Exhibition 2020

The 98th Annual Hart House Camera Club Exhibition Winners, Runner-Ups and Honourable Mentions.

The Hart House Camera Club was founded in 1919. In 1922 the Club held its First Annual Exhibition of Photography. The tradition has continued over the years, providing Hart House members and University of Toronto students with the opportunity to display their work to a broad audience. Today, the Hart House Camera Club Annual Exhibition of Photography remains as one of the longest-running photography contests in North America.

The exhibition has nine divisions, allowing for a wide range of creative projects. The divisions have been changed over the years and currently include: Film Prints (Mastery of Printing and Mastery of Execution), Portraiture, People, Places, Nature, Altered Images, Campus Life Images, and Photographic Essay divisions. This year, the exhibition has attracted over 116 submissions and the prints you see displayed on here have been selected by an impartial jury panel as the best in each division.

The Hart House Camera Club is very excited to bring together the works of so many talented photographers for display in 2020! Thank you for viewing!

People – William J. Dowkes Award

Winner: Tracey Suba, “Bailarina Cubana”
Winner: Art Chow, “Texting”
Honourable mentions: Yifei Yan, “Prayers”

Places – William J. Dowkes Award

Winner: Greg Cooke , “Beach Club Frontage”
Winner: Nathaniel Chen, “Air It Out”
Runner-up: Josh Yang, “Zhuhai Opera”
Honourable mentions: Art Chow, “Communications”
Honourable mention: Jesse McDougall, “Toronto Skyline”
Honourable mention: Nathaniel Chen, “Buses”

Nature – William J. Dowkes Award

Winner: Greg Cooke, “Grasses of Aran Island”
Runner-up: Nathaniel Chen, “Garrison”
Runner-up: Valentina Manferrari, “Day Before Death”
Honourable mention: Jesse McDougall, “Cape Cod Ivy”
Honourable mention: Jesse McDougall, “Sunday Afternoon”
Honourable mention: Josh Yang, “Starry Night”

Campus Life Images – Yousuf Karsh Award

Winner: Josh Yang, “Choir”
Winner: Yifei Yan, “Sunset on Campus”

Portraiture- K.B Jackson Award

Runner-up: Jesse McDougall, “A Cowboy In Vermont”
Honourable mention: Art Chow, “Untitled”

Photo Essay

Winner: Yifei Yan, “Collision and Fusion”

Gilbert A. Milne Award for Highest Number of Accepted Photos
Winner: Jesse McDougall